top of page

E-2 Visa: Great option for small business owners in the United States

An E-2 Treaty Investor Visa is a non-immigrant work visa reserved for entrepreneurs of nations that have a treaty of commerce and navigation with the United States. It enables foreign investors to work and develop their businesses in the United States.

E-2 visas are only available to nationals of a country that has a valid commerce and navigation treaty with the United States. The E-2 Investor visa applicant may invest in his own start-up or purchase an existing business.

The E-2 Investor must own at least 50% of the business, and should make substantial investment in a business or commercial enterprise in the United States. While the U.S. government has not set a minimum level of investment to qualify as “substantial,” the amount must be at least enough to develop the business in order for it to conduct operations.

The E-2 enterprise should be engaged in active trade of goods or services with the goal of generating profits. Passive investments, such as the purchase of stocks or real estate properties, do not qualify for the E-2 Visa.

E-2 Visa is also available for E-2 company's employees who hold the same nationality as the E-2 Investor. The E-2 Employee can be a Manager or a worker with special skills, making him or her essential to the running of the business.

See the list of E-2 Treaty countries below:

  • Albania

  • Argentina

  • Armenia

  • Australia

  • Austria

  • Azerbaijan

  • Bahrain

  • Bangladesh

  • Belgium

  • Bolivia

  • Bosnia and Herzegovina

  • Bulgaria

  • Cameroon

  • Canada

  • Chile

  • Colombia

  • Congo (Brazzaville)

  • Congo (Kinshasa)

  • Costa Rica

  • Croatia

  • Czech Republic

  • Denmark

  • Ecuador

  • Egypt

  • Estonia

  • Ethiopia

  • Finland

  • France

  • Georgia

  • Germany

  • Grenada

  • Honduras

  • Ireland

  • Israel

  • Italy

  • Jamaica

  • Japan

  • Jordan

  • Kazakhstan

  • Kosovo

  • Kyrgyzstan

  • Latvia

  • Liberia

  • Lithuania

  • Luxembourg

  • Mexico

  • Moldova

  • Mongolia

  • Montenegro

  • Morocco

  • Netherlands

  • New Zealand

  • Norway

  • Oman

  • Pakistan

  • Panama

  • Paraguay

  • Philippines

  • Poland

  • Romania

  • Serbia

  • Senegal

  • Singapore

  • Slovak Republic

  • Slovenia

  • South Korea

  • Spain

  • Sri Lanka

  • Suriname

  • Sweden

  • Switzerland

  • Taiwan

  • Thailand

  • Togo

  • Trinidad & Tobago

  • Tunisia

  • Turkey

  • Ukraine

  • United Kingdom.

21 views0 comments



bottom of page